Review: Space Team: A Funny Sci-Fi Space Adventure

Holy Schizz this was fonking hilarious!*

OK, Happy Readers, I found that 5 Star for you. As per usual, it came as a surprise.

A bit of backstory and explanation on this one is in order I think. This was not in my line-up at all. You see, I kind of cheated on ‘reading’ this book. I call it cheating because I didn’t actually ‘read’ it… I listened to it.

No, not an Audible or even an audio book version. I accidentally stumbled across the fact that my Kindle Fire TV will let Alexa read to me. And she does a pretty good job. There are some inflection and pronunciation issues, naturally, and the pauses are a bit unnatural at times, but other than that, it comes out quite decent.

Oh, and before some of you who might be ‘listeners’ out there get tweaked by my calling this cheating, let me explain. If you don’t read the book you are cheating. (Now you can get mad since I said it instead of inferring it.) Yep, if you didn’t read it, you had it read TO YOU which is not the same as reading it yourself. It can be just as good, and I’m not knocking the experience, but it is still not the same. Just like watching a movie vs. reading the book is not the same. Cheat if you want, but it’s still cheating. Fight me. But I digress.

No major status updates for me yet. Still fighting the 2020 New Year’s Write-olution fight (1000 words/day). It’s a draw at this point, but again, I’m not giving up!

Anyway, on to the review!

Here’s the Amazon Blurb:

The galaxy just called for help. Unfortunately, the wrong man answered.

When small-time conman, Cal Carver, is thrown in jail and forced to share a cell with a semi-naked cannibalistic serial killer, he’s pretty sure his day can’t get any worse.

Boy, is he wrong.

It isn’t until two-thirds of the human race is wiped out and Cal is mistakenly abducted by aliens that things really start to go downhill.

Whisked across the galaxy, Cal is forced into a team of some of the sector’s most notorious villains and scumbags and tasked with delivering a package to a warlord-run solar system where the authorities daren’t venture.

The mission should be simple enough, but as one screw-up leads to another the ragtag group of unwitting heroes find themselves in a frantic battle to save an entire alien civilization – and its god – from total annihilation.

Featuring epic space battles, hilariously snarky characters, and a shapeshifting blob with the face of Tobey Maguire, Space Team is the first book in the internationally bestselling series by award-winning author, Barry J. Hutchison.

Perfect for fans of The Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy, Galaxy Quest, Guardians of the Galaxy, and pretty much anything else with the word ‘Galaxy’ in the title.*

*Except Samsung’s Galaxy S series, which is a range of mobile devices, and so not really similar.

And now the review!

Space Team (Space Team, #1)Space Team by Barry J. Hutchison
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

Holy Shizz this was fonking hilarious!*

I picked this surprise gem up about mid 2017 (it is Jan 2019 for reference) and it went into the secondary to-be-read pile. Meaning I might read it one day. But when I discovered the Alexa thing, I decided to try it out on a something that I was ambivalent about reading. Well, as i said, I got a surprise.

This book is an absolutely hilarious and fun romp. It is like Douglas Adams and Harry Harrison (think Stainless Steel Rat) got together and wrote a book to mock Red Dwarf. Yep, if you like ANY of those, you must (zero choice, you must) get this book and read/listen to it. It was so good that I sat and put together half of a 1000 piece puzzle giggling like an idiot while it blared out of my television set. If you like absurdist comedy, do yourself a favor and pick this one up. You will not regret it!

Oh, yeah, it’s about a Space Team. Blurb above pretty much says it all.

I give Space Team five Space Stars* and call it a Fonking Hilarious Read!*

*jokes are understandable if you read/hear the book

Happy Reading (Hearing?)!

Happy Reading!


Check out my books over on Amazon.com!

I currently have two self-published works. Both are available on Kindle Unlimited, and on Kindle Owners’ Lending Library for free if you have Amazon Prime. I also have stories in several anthologies, so check those out too!

Follow me on Facebook.


Primary Works

If you like intrigue, humor and a bit of speculative technological supposition, you should pick up a copy of my technothriller-comedy eConscience Beta from Amazon today!

Peacekeeper Incorporated’s breakthrough nanotechnology could bring repeat offense crime to an end, freeing society from the need for criminal incarcerations. But first, they have to finish testing it. With funding on the line, and time to prove out the project getting short, the lead scientist must find a way speed things up. That’s unfortunate for his guinea pig, and anyone who would stand in his way.

Can the goal of ending most crime justify committing one… even a few?
And what happens when you conflate altruism with egotism?

Find out in eConscience Beta, where two lab techs and an uncouth petty criminal must outwit a brilliant but sociopathic scientist who’ll stop at nothing to establish his legacy as the man who ended crime.


If Science Fiction Space Adventure is more your speed, then you should check out my anthology, Horizons Unlimited: Volume 1.

HORIZONS UNLIMITED

Matter conversion technology—Matt-Con—has broadened the scope of mankind’s existence. It has opened up the real possibility of viable colonies on other planets in our solar system, and even space itself. Anywhere matter can be captured or energy from the sun can be felt, the possibility of expanding human habitation exists.

In this volume:

Quicksilver

The space station Chariot of Helios—on its way to Mercury to become a power collection station for Earth’s growing need for energy to power matt-con tech—encounters a strange anomaly that threatens ship and crew.

Escaping Aurora

The sudden destruction of mankind’s first atmospheric terraforming platform leaves three unlucky exonauts struggling to survive in the skies of Venus aboard a cobbled-together airship. Meanwhile, the commander of the space station above battles obstacles that might keep her from rescuing her stranded husband and crew in time.

HAPPY READING!

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s